RHS Speech & Debate: District Champs

RHS Speech & Debate: District Champs
Posted on 03/07/2024
This is the image for the news article titled RHS Speech & Debate: District ChampsCONGRATULATIONS, RHS Speech & Debate Team!

From Mr. Patrick Brooks, Team Sponsor:

Please join me in congratulating this year's MSHSAA District 6 Speech and Debate Champions, your very own Rolla Bulldogs!
Not only did these kids win 1st place in overall Speech Events, 1st place in overall Debate Events, taking home the enormous traveling trophy, taking EIGHT entries to the State Tournament,  but they also HOSTED the district tournament as well, which is quite the undertaking in its own right. Our very own Audrey Smith served as Judges Chair for the tournament, and Lillian Webb served as Facilities Chair, and both did a fantastic job! 
Before we get into the specifics of what these kids accomplished, we have to acknowledge those who went above and beyond to make this event a success!
To everyone in our community and on our staff who judged for our tournament, thank you so much! There would literally be no tournament at all without judges, and we were overwhelmed by the support we received from school board members, elected officials, police officers, MS&T faculty members, church pastors, teachers, parents, and just good-old-fashioned nice people who volunteered to help. We appreciate you so much!  
To our sponsors who pitched in for our hospitality room, thank you to El Maguey, Los Arcos, and Price Chopper! Thanks also to Blue Fish for getting our orders ready in a hurry! 
To the parents who helped staff the tournament, you truly went above and beyond for us! We are blessed to have the best parent group in the state of Missouri! Thank you Perry and Kelley Koob, Will and Sarah Loughridge, Jeff and Traci Heese, Amy Cornelius, Kathy Northcut, Michael and Michele Moats. 
To Mary Brooks, Terry Cremer, April Veo, and Becky Smith, whose work coordinating the hospitality room started months ago, and who quarterbacked the best hospitality room we've ever seen! Thanks go out to Idena Hale, Adam and Shannon Birdsong, Michael and Jessica Beucler, and many others who provided food. 
To the kitchen staff, custodial staff, and faculty members who so graciously shared their space with us, thank you! 
To the school administration who provided all the support we needed to make this work. 
And to Frannie Lowrey, Jaime Rowland, and Aaron Loker, our assistant coaches, who really kept things running, and for managing Patrick Brooks while he managed the tournament. 
Okay, now, let's celebrate these amazing kids! 
Congratulations to our finalists who received medals in their events:
In Debate Events 
we have Cameron Erickson and Pranaj Sitaula (1st place) and Monay Lefatshe and Angela Zhong (2nd place) who CLOSED OUT Policy Debate, meaning that it was only Rolla vs. Rolla in the finals);
we have Jake Green and Logan Loughridge, along with Kate Arnold and Lillian Webb, who closed out Public Forum Debate, receiving 1st and 2nd place respectively, though technically they did not debate each other in the finals...the battle will continue during team practices; 
we have Isaac Brooks (3rd place) and Beau Heese (2nd place) in Lincoln-Douglas Debate. 
In Speech Events
Isaac Brooks took 1st place in Informative Speaking and 2nd place in Radio Speaking
Jake Green took 1st place 
Audrey Smith took 2nd place in Original Oratory
Ella Veo took 3rd place in Dramatic Interpretation
Logan Loughridge took 3rd place in U.S. Extemporaneous Speaking
Ella Veo and Shelby Blake took 4th place in Duo Interpretation
Morgan Moats took 4th place in Storytelling
Audrey Smith and Sailor Garrison took 6th place in Duet Acting

Pictured here: 
Front Row (left to right): Rebecca McGlaughlin, Valery Liang, Kaitlyn Koob, Coralie Whitehead, Jersy Stinson, Olivia Cheng, Job Collinge
Middle Row: Morgan Moats, Kate Arnold, Lillian Webb, Audrey Smith, Ella Veo, Shelby Blake, Monay Lefatshe, Jaime Rowland (coach), and Frannie Lowrey (coach)
Back Row: Patrick Brooks (head coach), Aaron Loker (coach), Isaac Brooks, Beau Heese, Cameron Erickson, Pranaj Sitaula, Jake Green, Logan Loughridge, Sailor Garrison, Angela Zhong

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.